How to Make Natural Popcorn

How To Make Natural Popcorn

You can watch the vlog below,
or once again, I’ve included pictures and text below.

 

I LOVE popcorn!  It’s salty, and crunchy, and buttery, and lovely.  I could go on and on about it.  I always have microwave popcorn in my cupboards.  But since having gone “organic” and only eating whole foods, I have not touched a bag of the stuff, and I must admit that I miss it.  If you have a box of popcorn hanging around your kitchen, take a moment to read the ingredients label.  It is full of butter, salt, sugar, artificial color and flavor, oil, and preservatives…all of which we should not want in our bodies.  Lucky for you though, I came across an amazing, life changing, tip this week on how to make natural microwave popcorn at home!  Brace yourselves, you are about to be amazed!

All you need are 2 simple things:

A brown paper lunch bag
Popcorn Kernels
You can find these in the popcorn section of the grocery store. 
Any kind will work, or you can purchase Organic Kernels at places like Whole Foods.

So, how do you do it?  Follow these simple steps:

1.  Open lunch bag and put 2 small handfuls of popcorn kernels in.
2.  Make 3 tight folds at the top of the bag.  You should roll the bag down only an inch or so.  The popcorn needs room to expand as it cooks.
3.  Place in microwave for 2 minutes. 
(when are first trying this, stay by the microwave to listen for the popping to stop.  Every microwave is different, but mine takes about 1.5 minutes to cook)
4.  Remove from the microwave, open up the bag and enjoy wonderfully natural popcorn!

Following this recipe will give you a medium bowl full of popcorn.  So, obviously, if you are cooking for a large crowd, are super hungry, or have a double feature movie night, you might need to make more than one batch.  This popcorn is all natural so you can control what you put on it.  You can add butter, salt, pepper, parmesan cheese, whatever you like!  You know exactly what you are eating which is exactly what we want!  Also, since there is no oil on the kernels, you can reuse each brown paper bag up to 5 times…so no wasting paper! 

I am so excited that this actually works.  To be honest I did not believe the article when I read it.  I mean, if we can make microwave popcorn at home, why wouldn’t we?  Isn’t there a reason we buy it at the store?  But this actually works and I’m thrilled!  So, go pop some popcorn and enjoy!  You will be amazed. Guaranteed :).

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by SM Walker on August 6, 2010 at 7:55 am

    yummy, thanks. off to get some brown bags, who knew?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mike on August 6, 2010 at 10:58 am

    You look hot girl!!!! Hair looks great too! Oh wait, this was about popcorn right? Would you please find some organic cheetos!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Janae on August 6, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Fabulous! My family is addicted to popcorn…can’t wait to share this with them. Thanks, Sarah!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Emery Board A on August 6, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    oh my gosh this is perfect and so cool. you rock lady, thanks

    Reply

  5. Posted by Dohna on August 7, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    I LOVE popcorn! In fact I just ate some microwave popcorn before I checked out your vlog. I can’t wait to try it. Not only will it be healthier, it will also be more economical. Thanks for the tip, Sarah =) P.S. I’m getting kinda bored drinking water & lemon…any refreshing beverage tips?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Veronica Crescioni on August 10, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Oh yeah!!! I will have to try this with the kids. As far as cheetos they have a Sprouts brand(like Whole Foods but in socal and az) cheese puffs that we use to get for the kids once in a while made with corn and cheese…imagine that! Let me know of any drinks you find…we live on V8 Fusion, tea and water…oooooh and when we were state side we loved buying Jones Soda (the cream one)YUM!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

